Managing through Technology
AACSB AMBA
  • 26.
  • 09.
  • 2017

LASCO

Laboratory “Meaning and Comprehension in the Contemporary World” 

Founded in Spring 2013, LASCO - Contemporary World is a laboratory of ideas created within the framework of a collaboration between research professors from theUniversité Paris Descartes and from the schools of the Institut Mines-Télécom. This laboratory brings together permanent research professors (Professors and Associate Professors), associate researchers (essentially foreign professors), young holders of doctorates from various disciplines of humanities and social sciences (predominantly sociology, the philosophy of technologies, ethics, semiology, linguistics, pedagogical sciences, management sciences, political sciences and anthropology) with a common program as a basis. 

The main scientific objective behind LASCO - Contemporary World consists of analyzing the conditions under which meaning emerges at a time when subjectivities, interpersonal relationships, organizations and political spaces are subject to significant shifts, in particular with the expansion of digital technologies and with the globalization of certain economic models. 

Taking such a situation as a base, it is on the one hand a question of understanding potential sources of ethical contradictions, indeed even crises of meaning which propagate throughout the contemporary world. On the other hand, it shall also deal with identifying the new conditions under which meaning is reactivated which are illustrated by new social, political, aesthetic, technological and pedagogical practices. 

Finally, we plan to study the different visions of the world and the social imaginaries which underlie these practices :

  1. Which forms of sharing subjectivities and sensitivities are enacted in the process of redefining political spaces ? 
  2. Which individual and collective representations are at work ? 
  3. Which ethical and political questioning can we undertake ? 

Key research topics

The effort of comprehending and explaining the contemporary form of the subjects indicated above is illustrated by defining four thematic topics. These topic areas take the format of working, reflective and analysis groups designed to allow the laboratory to achieve a general synthesis, to design new projects, publications and public events.

Topic 1: Ethics, hermeneutics and technological mediations

If certain aspects of interpersonal communication are reconfigured by information technology machines, the way in which relationships have apparently become more fluid does indeed entail certain ethical risks. However, these are not always easily detectable; they need to be evaluated according to the socio-economic and cultural contexts in which the technological mediations are recorded: one never encounters technological artifacts alone, rather, they are always in the form of “techno-logies”. This brings us to logos and to the principles which accompany it, i.e. rationality, but also the discourse in which it is embedded and which gives it a symbolic expression.

In another respect, such a hermeneutic dimension allows one to emphasize the set of appropriations which is intended to accompany any technological mediation. The uniformization of technological methods does not entail, as it would in a cause and effect relationship, the uniformization of usage as the relationship to technology is, in principle, led by heritage and singular brands (which is in fact manifested by certain design practices today). However, it is only possible to diversify the way in which technological mediations are received by maintaining the diversity of the cultures in which they are embedded.

Head: Pierre-Antoine Chardel

Topic 2: Body and health

In the laboratory, the body is the object of a transdisciplinary reflection process including normative and ethical questions (health, performance, life and death-related statuses). It is also studied within the context of the philosophy of technology (information, cognition, hybridation, socialization) as well as in relation to the history of the processes of subjectivation and objectivation (the body as a subject for reification in the context of developing biometric technologies). It is also where individual and collective symbolism resides which stimulates reflections on education, (bio-) politics, anthropology and psychoanalysis.

Head: Isabelle Queval

Topic 3: Public spaces and mass medias

The notion of the public space is at the heart of the democratic organization and of the political and social spheres within this, it defines the intermediate space in between civil society and the State as an organizing structure for participation as well as control of this public space. The State itself is undergoing profound techno-organizational and normative transformations which it will be fitting to analyze, as it will not be possible to speak of such a space today without evoking the complexity of the technological reality which defines it and transforms it.

At the same time, new media make it possible to create a much more extensive space than before. In sociological terms, it can be observed that the use of new media, in particular in the digital era, transforms the modalities of collective action, fostering forms of participation and commitment which are much more spontaneous and direct such as new forms of coercion and control which have become strategic, political and security-related matters.

However, do such formats contribute to a veritable recognition of the voices which are being expressed by new medias?

Does the networking of the public space allow for significant forms of sociality to be asserted, even the creation of “public counterspaces”?

What will become of publicity and public expression at a time when the organization of spaces, which are subject to extreme levels of security, accentuates the dividing lines within territories, particularly when the logic of exceptionality tends to redefine the contours of our political spaces?

Head: Jan Spurk

Topic 4: Signs, Subjectivities, Representations 

The signs transmitted by a language or by non-verbal language (gestures, icons, visuals, proxemics, etc.) constitute the backdrop against which collective meaning is manifested and inscribed by means of culturemes and ideologemes. They form the genesis of a socio-cultural imaginary which each subject can move away from if they decide not to be duped by it and to produce conflict and crisis procedures, of which both the social and economic constituent parts need to be determined. The theories and methods of investigation call upon linguistics, but also more generally on social sciences and humanities, engaging an interdisciplinary process of reflection which contributes to defining an archeology of the ordinary in contemporary companies where the discourses, images and the backdrops which bear them are the subject of representations which commit us to redefining the foundations of extended hermeneutic activity in all spheres of our individual and collective existences. At this level, the issue at hand is an ecology of information.

Head: Valérie Brunetière

 
Share this

Managing through Technology
AACSB AMBA
  • 21.
  • 02.
  • 2017

LASCO

Laboratoire  « Sens et COmpréhension du monde contemporain » 

Fondé au printemps 2013, le LASCO - Monde Contemporain est un laboratoire d'idées créé dans le cadre d'une collaboration entre des enseignants-chercheurs de l'Université Paris Descartes et des écoles de l'Institut Mines-Télécom. Ce laboratoire rassemble des enseignants-chercheurs titulaires (professeurs et maîtres de conférences), des chercheurs associés (essentiellement des professeurs étrangers), des jeunes docteurs, issus de diverses disciplines des sciences humaines et sociales (dont principalement la sociologie, la philosophie des technologies, l'éthique, la sémiologie, la linguistique, les sciences de l'éducation, les sciences de gestion, les sciences politiques et l'anthropologie) sur la base d'un programme commun. 

La mission scientifique principale du LASCO - Monde Contemporain consiste à analyser les conditions d'émergence du sens à l'heure où les subjectivités, les rapports interpersonnels, les organisations et les espaces politiques sont l'enjeu de mutations importantes, en particulier avec l'expansion des technologies numériques ainsi qu'avec la mondialisation de certains modèles économiques. 

En prenant appui sur un tel état de fait, il s'agit d'une part de comprendre les éventuelles sources de contradictions éthiques, voire de crise de sens, qui se propagent dans le monde contemporain. Il sera, d'autre part, question d'identifier les nouvelles conditions de réactivation du sens qui s'illustrent par de nouvelles pratiques sociales, politiques, esthétiques, technologiques et éducatives. 
Enfin, nous projetons de nous pencher sur les différentes visions du monde et les imaginaires sociaux qui sous-tendent ces pratiques.

  • Quelles formes de partage des subjectivités et des sensibilités se jouent au travers de la redéfinition des espaces politiques? 
  • Quelles représentations individuelles et collectives sont à l'œuvre ? 
  • Quel questionnement éthico-politique pouvons-nous entreprendre? 

Programme 2015/2016

Les principaux axes de recherche

L’effort de compréhension et d’explication de la forme contemporaine des objets indiqués ci-dessus s’illustre par la définition de quatre axes thématiques. Ces derniers sont conçus comme des groupes de travail, de réflexion et d’analyse afin de permettre au laboratoire une synthèse générale, l’élaboration de nouveaux projets, de publications et de manifestations publiques.

Axe 1 : Ethique, herméneutique et médiations technologiques 

Si les machines informationnelles reconfigurent sous certains aspects la communication interpersonnelle, l’apparente fluidification des rapports n’est pas sans impliquer certains risques éthiques. Ceux-ci ne sont pas toutefois aisément repérables, ils nécessitent d’être évalués selon les contextes socio-économiques et culturels dans lesquels les médiations technologiques sont inscrites : on ne rencontre jamais la technique toute seule, mais toujours des « techno-logies ». Ce qui nous renvoie au logos et aux principes qui l’accompagnent, c’est-à-dire à la rationalité, mais aussi aux discours qui la portent et qui lui donnent une expression symbolique.

Une telle dimension herméneutique permet, sur un autre plan, d’insister sur le jeu des appropriations qui est censé accompagner toute médiation technologique. L’uniformisation des moyens technologiques n’entraîne pas, comme dans une relation de cause à effet, une uniformisation des usages puisque la relation aux technologies est en principe orientée par des héritages et des marques singulières (ce que certaines pratiques du design révèlent bien aujourd’hui). La diversification de la réception des médiations technologiques n’est cependant possible qu’à travers le maintien de la diversité des cultures qui les portent.

Responsable : Pierre-Antoine Chardel

 

Axe 2 : Corps et santé 

Le corps est l’objet dans le laboratoire d’une réflexion transdisciplinaire incluant des questions normatives et éthiques (statuts de la santé, de la performance, de la vie et de la mort), de philosophie de la technique (information, cognition, hybridation,  socialisation) ainsi que relatives à l’histoire des processus de subjectivation et d’objectivation (le corps comme enjeu de réification dans le contexte du développement des technologies biométriques). Il est aussi le lieu des symboliques individuelles et collectives qui aiguillonnent la réflexion éducative, (bio-)politique, anthropologique et psychanalytique.

 Responsable : Isabelle Queval

Axe 3 : Espaces publics et mass médias

La notion d’espace public est au cœur de l’organisation démocratique et de la place qu’y occupent les champs politiques et sociaux, elle définit l’espace intermédiaire entre la société civile et l’Etat en tant que structure organisatrice de la participation comme du contrôle de ce même espace public ; Etat qui lui-même subit de profondes transformations techno-organisationnelles comme normatives qu’il conviendra d’analyser car on ne saurait parler d’un tel espace aujourd’hui sans évoquer la complexité de la réalité technologique qui le définit et le transforme.

Les nouveaux médias permettent simultanément de créer un espace beaucoup plus large qu’autrefois. Sociologiquement, on constate que l’utilisation des nouveaux médias, en particulier à l’ère numérique, transforme les modalités de l’action collective, favorisant des formes plus spontanées et directes de participation et d’engagement comme de nouvelles formes de coercition et de contrôle devenues des enjeux stratégiques, politiques et sécuritaires.

De telles formes contribuent-elles cependant à une véritable reconnaissance des voix qui s’expriment par les nouveaux médias ?

La mise en réseau de l’espace public permet-elle d’affirmer des formes significatives de socialité, voire la création de « contre-espaces publics » ?

Que deviennent enfin la publicité et l’expression publique à l’heure où l’organisation d’espaces hyper-sécurisés accentue les effets de clivage au sein des territoires, à plus forte raison lorsque des logiques d’exceptionnalité tendent à redéfinir les contours de nos espaces politiques ?

Responsable : Jan Spurk

Axe 4 : Signes, Subjectivités, Représentations 

Les signes portés par une langue ou un langage non verbal (gestuel, iconique, visuel, proxémique, etc.) constituent la surface de manifestation et d'inscription du sens collectif par l'entremise des culturèmes et idéologèmes. Ceux-ci forment la genèse d'un imaginaire socio-culturel, dont chaque sujet peut se déprendre s'il décide de ne pas en être dupe et de produire du conflit et des processus de crises dont il conviendra d’en déterminer les composantes tant sociales qu’économiques. Les théories et méthodes d'investigation en appellent aux sciences du langage, mais plus largement aux sciences sociales et humaines, engageant une réflexivité interdisciplinaire qui contribue à cerner les contours d'une archéologie de l'ordinaire dans des sociétés contemporaines où les discours, les images et les écrans qui les portent, sont l’enjeu de représentations qui nous engagent à redéfinir les bases d’une activité herméneutique élargie à toutes les sphères de nos existences individuelles et collectives.  Une écologie informationnelle est à ce niveau en jeu.

Responsable : Valérie Brunetière

Share this